Thoughts and Chatter

It seems that lately I’ve become in great danger of being taken seriously around here. I mean, my last post got linked a total of four times and the previous one got linked at least twice. Every time I get accept not having a large audience I suddenly end up on everyone’s radar again. I’m kidding, I don’t particularly care if people pay attention or not.

Anyhow, it seems I’ve accrued some incomplete thoughts and amusing anecdotes that I feel a (very female) compulsion to share.

My horse now thinks that NSR is a tall, handsome treat-and-affection dispenser. She’s disappointed when he doesn’t come to the barn with me. When he does come with me I have trouble getting him to leave, because he doesn’t want to stop petting her. Makes them both happy though, so I can’t complain.

My lovely, dull purple suede purse broke today. Given that it was a birthday gift from NSR I wasn’t just going to let it go, so I set about figuring out how to fix it. Lacking an industrial sewing machine or sufficiently sharp needles I couldn’t just sew it. My final solution was to use two stud earrings in place of rads. After struggling with it for quite some time and stabbing myself in the finger with a very large needle (and trying to keep myself calm while getting myself a bandaid to avoid fainting), I finally managed to get it fixed. I then bent the earrings with needle-nosed pliers so they wouldn’t just pop off. Not the way I was expecting to fix it, but it seems to have worked.

I bought a Buddy Holly CD recently (because I have the music tastes of an old fuddy duddy) and while playing it had to chuckle about the fact that this kind of music used to be considered “devil music”. If only those people could hear the music on the radio today. Even Christian music isn’t necessarily that tame anymore.

On the topic of music, whenever the high school/youth group leads worship at church they select songs that were popular when I was in elementary school. Given they’re younger than me you would think they’d like more up to date music, but I’m not complaining, I love it. I’d especially love it if they decided to sing this one:

I finished Kazuo Ishiguro’s “Never Let Me Go”, which was rather popular when it came out and the first two pages of the book are covered by rave reviews by everybody from The Onion to Slate. I enjoyed it very much, but being a genre savvy person, for me there was no twist. Everything was very straightforward and fit together perfectly. Very much like Kafka’s work in that something about the world is strange and unfortunate, but it doesn’t strike you as terribly strange because of how it is presented. It’s not odd or awkward, it’s just different from our own world and not so much that it seems out of the realm of possibility. Wouldn’t necessarily suggest it for kids due to several (if un-detailed and bland) references to sex. Now, what to read next?

The fact that I used to willingly play educational video games has led NSR to question whether I was ever actually a child. Upon reflection, it does seem that aside from an annoying habit of putting stickers all over everything I never really was. I was always exceedingly sensible, yet somehow as an adult I frequently fail to do basic human tasks like buying the right kind of shipping envelope. I honestly think that if I were a child going through the education system now that I would have been labeled autistic or somesuch. I really have no idea what is going on ever, but somehow can run things with efficiency and do very nice intellectual and creative work. My entire inner workings seem contradictory.

I recently let go of my studio space, because it was too expensive and far away. Dropped off the key yesterday, now both my keyring and my life seem less cluttered. I may see about trying to rent a commercial space at a closer location after I spend a few months saving. I recently had my first sale on Etsy, which is very exciting. Although I shipped it in the wrong kind of envelope and cut my profit in half. Which led me to tell NSR that it’s a very good thing I married him, because I really can’t function well in human society. And that he needs to keep a closer eye on me.

That and maybe if he watches closely he can help me figure out what I do during (internet and in-person) discussions/arguments that intimidates people. I’m not really sure “intimidate” is the right word, but I can’t come up with a better one. I’ve recently started joking with myself that perhaps people start hearing this theme in their heads when I decide to argue with them:

(That picture wasn’t chosen randomly, that is the character this theme belongs to.)

I had other things I wanted to chatter about, but I think I’ll save those for some other time. Too much talking is bad for me.

5 responses to “Thoughts and Chatter

Leave a Reply

