Fit Friday 1

I’ve decided to bite the bullet and finally participate in these. Not because I’m particularly starting an exercise regime for myself, I don’t need to lose weight (I could actually stand to increase my fat percentage by a few points) and NSR is staunchly against me building any more muscle than I have. What I’m actually doing is starting up Maya on an exercise regime of sorts, which will exercise me as well. I’m starting her on this now because A) She’s been getting a bit of a grass/hay belly and B) Because I finally went about solving a few problems which were keeping me from riding more.

Those problems revolved 100% around the saddle I was borrowing, or I should say saddles. The saddle I was using was recently switched on me. The saddle was making Maya’s back slightly sore and the leather stirrups were slowly but surely trying to turn my legs in corkscrews. This resulted in us both being in some degree of pain. This led me to researching and eventually buying a bareback pad.

She's obedient enough to stand there and let me take it though.

Maya, less than thrilled with my picture taking.

Very comfortable for me, safer than riding without it or riding in a saddle without stirrups, and seems to be more comfortable for her. It also lets me feel her better, now I can actually feel how collected she is or isn’t. As a bonus, I can ride in shorts and don’t have to put on and take off 45-50lbs of saddle. No knee pain for me, no back pain for her.

On to the checklist:

How did you get moving this week?

We rode twice this week, with 2 laps hand-walking, 10 min warm up, 10 min gaiting, 10 min cool down, 2 laps walking at liberty. For just me, I’ve mucked her paddock four times since last Friday and will be mucking three more paddocks this evening (the barn owner is away).

What was your go-to healthy food item or meal?

Haven’t really had one. I’ve been trying to keep fresh fruit in the house, but wasn’t totally successful this week.

What are your plans for next week?

I’m hoping to get in three rides rather than just two. I’ll probably also have Maya do some back raises, as she gets older I need to combat her becoming swaybacked.

I’m hoping to eventually work her up to riding four times a week with at least 20 minutes gaiting each time. At some point we will start working on maneuvers again, we haven’t really since she was injured.

What song got you moving?

Best Day of My Life by the American Authors.

Leave a Reply

