MS: Breakfast Quiche

When I finally acquired a pie dish this recipe was the first thing on my mind. It’s very simple and is one of the only ways I will eat eggs.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup of shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup of chopped cooked ham (or bacon)
  • 1 unbaked 9 inch pie shell

Directions:

Put the pie shell into the pie dish. I just use a pre-made one since I don’t eat crust. Sprinkle the in the cheese and put the meat on top of it. You can substitute bacon for the ham, but if you do be sure to leave out the salt. Beat the eggs, milk, salt and pepper together and pour over the ham and cheese. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes before cutting and serving. Substituting bacon makes the quiche a bit thinner, meaning you can probably cut down the bake time by a few minutes. Ideally the quiche should be a fairly moist and not at all brown on the top.

 

3 responses to “MS: Breakfast Quiche

  • Maeve

    Quiches are fantastic! I make them a lot, generally as a means of using leftover vegetables. The other thing I like is that they freeze very well and it’s just as easy to make two as it is to make one (and I often make them in disposable foil pans). How come you don’t eat the crust? Is it the texture? My youngest won’t eat the crust either; she just scoops out the filing LOL.

    • allamagoosa

      I don’t like the taste of the crust, to me it interferes too much with the flavor of the filling. Graham cracker crust is the only crust I’ll eat, and even then I mostly just tolerate it.

      • TempestTcup

        I make quiche with a sausage crust (Blue & Gold brand) and it is sooooo gooood! You just press a thin layer of sausage in the pan and add your fillings to the raw sausage. The only problems I’ve had was the sausage shrinks some and there is a lot of grease to pour off. Still worth it though!

Leave a Reply

