#NoNothingNovember

I saw this over at Stingray’s and since it dovetailed nicely with what I’ve been thinking about anyway, I decided I will be participating. I can’t say I intend to actually enter the contest, since I don’t focus too heavily on manosphere stuff or write for men as my target audience. I’m mostly just doing this because I was thinking only yesterday that I needed some more structure in my life, so I thought about it awhile and came up with three goals.

1. Get up at a decent hour and go to bed at a decent hour.

I have about a million different ways I could add structure to my life, but for me building habits is a one-step-at-a-time deal. So I decided to start with something simple. Making sure I get up a decent hour will make it much easier to use my time more efficiently and make it easier to get up on the rare occasions that I work during the week. I discussed this with NSR (he’s in charge of the alarm clock) and we decided 7:30 am would be a good time for me to get up. I’ll probably be aiming for a bedtime between 9:30 and 10 pm.

2. Finish things on the same day I start them.

I couldn’t come up with a better way to phrase this goal, given that it covers several categories of housework. What I mean is that pots and mixing bowls get washed on the same day they’re used; laundry doesn’t languish in the basket or worse yet, the dryer; dishes don’t sit on the counter long after they’re dry, etc. I’ve never been in charge of all the steps of any housekeeping task before, but I need to learn to get it all done so that the house won’t be a total disaster when kids come along.

3. Do something creative every day.

I haven’t been paying much attention to my artwork or my writing lately and that isn’t good for me. I need to keep my creative juices flowing. So everyday I will do at least one of these: knit, sew, draw, paint, write (poetry or fiction), decorate house (with stuff we already have or free things I can acquire, no shopping), garden, or learn a new creative skill/craft. I’m also going to count squaredancing, Altar Society meetings, and “service opportunities” like helping at the church Halloween party tomorrow as creative things. I’m also allowed to read if I’m doing research for something creative.

I may add more things if I manage to master one of these too quickly, but for now I’m going to leave it at that.

One response to “#NoNothingNovember

Leave a Reply

